Sunday, 21 April 2013

Featured Artist - Dr Feelgood

Dr. Feelgood are a British pub rock band formed in 1971.
Formed at Canvey Island, Essex, they are best known for early singles like "Back in the Night" and "Roxette". Although their most commercially productive years were the early to mid 1970s, they continue to tour and record to this day.

The original band line-up included Wilko Johnson on guitar, singer Lee Brilleaux and the rhythm section of John B. Sparks, known as "Sparko", on bass guitar and John Martin, known as "The Big Figure", on drums.
Like many pub rock acts, Dr. Feelgood were known primarily for their high energy live performances, although studio albums like Down by the Jetty (1974) and Malpractice (1975) were also popular. Their breakthrough 1976 live album, Stupidity, reached number one in the UK Albums Chart. But after the follow-up Sneakin' Suspicion, Johnson was replaced by John 'Gypie' Mayo, and enjoyed their only Top Ten hit single in 1979, with "Milk and Alcohol".

Despite Mayo's departure in 1981, and various subsequent line-up changes which left Brilleaux the only remaining original member, Dr. Feelgood continued touring and recording through the 1980s, until Lee Brilleaux died of cancer in 1994.
Dr. Feelgood reunited in May 1995, initially with vocalist Pete Gage, and started touring again in 1996.

The current line up features the rhythm section Kevin Morris on drums and Phil Mitchell on bass, both 29 years in the band and Steve Walwyn on guitar who has been with the band for 23 years. Vocalist Robert Kane (formerly of the Animals) is the most recent addition – joining in 1999. The band continues to tour extensively throughout the World and enjoy a loyal following at home and abroad.

No comments:

Post a Comment